Player of the Year

New Zealand’s top provincial players will be celebrated through two new awards announced by New Zealand Rugby - the Duane Monkley Medal for player of the year in the Mitre 10 Cup and the Fiao’o Fa’amausili Medal for the player of the year in the Farah Palmer Cup.

Duane Monkley Medal Points
As at Round 8

Who are the awards named after?

Monkley was a Waikato stalwart for a decade, playing 135 matches between 1987 and 1996. He continues to have an active involvement in the game as President of the Waikato Rugby Union.  He’s considered a local legend for his efforts for the Union.

Fa’amausili captained the Black Ferns to their fifth Women’s Rugby World Cup title earlier this year, and became the first Black Fern to reach 50 Test caps. On her return, she became the second player to bring up 100 provincial matches in the Farah Palmer Cup in September 2017.

The awards will be determined under a new points system, with the winners to be revealed at the ASB Rugby Awards in December.

2018 Duane Monkley Medal winner - Luke Romano

2018 Fiao’o Fa’amausili Medal winner - Kendra Cocksedge


Medal Design Elements
The pounamu is a rugby ball, with two people in the act of hongi; the spirit of coming together as one.  The mountain represents our country with the design inside referencing heart, protection, growth and positivity.  The three koru shapes at the bottom represent past, present and future players.  The poutama, represents striving to be better physically, mentally and spiritually with a step design. The face in the centre is the warriors spirit for both male and female; strength of spirit and belief.