PREVIEW: Hawke’s Bay v Manawatu

Getty Images

Saturday, October 14, 2017    Getty Images

Match details: Hawke’s Bay v Manawatu, Sunday 15 October, 4.35pm at McLean Park, Napier. TICKETS. 

Played: 100 (1887-2016)
Wins: Hawke's Bay 64, Manawatu 33, Draws 3
Last match: Hawke's Bay 30 Manawatu 21 (2016)


Manawatu have a short-turnaround following their Ranfurly Shield challenge against Taranaki on Wednesday. The Turbos threw everything into the clash but ended up coming short 46-25 against the Premiership trailblazers. Although Hawke’s Bay have underwhelmed in 2017 with just one win from nine matches played, they have shown some nice touches in recent weeks and almost upset Premiership contender North Harbour in Albany.


Manawatu’s set-piece has been quality this year with their lineout particularly dominant. Tall-men Jackson Hemopo and Tom Parsons both rank in the top six in the Mitre 10 Cup stats for lineout takes. The Magpies have run hot and cold at the set piece in 2017 and will need to be on their game to match Manawatu’s hard-working pack. If the Magpies can get parity at scrum and lineout time then it could be game on at McLean Park.

Hawke’s Bay have the chance to play spoilers against near-neighbours Manawatu. The Turbos will be drained from a physical Ranfurly Shield challenge against Taranaki and the Magpies will be desperate to give their fans something to cheer about after a tough season. Don’t be surprised to see Hawke’s Bay pick up the upset win and put the brakes on Manawatu’s 2017 campaign.


Manawatu Turbos:
Te Rangatira Waitokia, Newton Tudreu, Jason Emery, Hamish Northcott, Ambrose Curtis, Jade Te Rure, Kayne Hammington, Brice Henderson, Antonio Kiri Kiri, Heiden Bedwell-Curtis (captain), Jackson Hemopo, Tom Parsons, Michael Alaalatoa, Tim Cadwallader, Fraser Armstrong. Substitutes, forwards: Tom Crozier, Tuki Raimona, Sean Paranihi, Liam Hallam-Eames, Harrison Brewer. Backs: Jamie Booth, Sam Malcolm, Lewis Marshall.

Hawke's Bay: 15 Sam McNicol, 14 Cardiff Vaega, 13 Jonah Lowe, 12 Richard Buckman, 11 Mason Emerson, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Brad Weber; 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Tony Lamborn, 6 Marino Mikaele Tu'u, 5 Joshua Eden- Whaitiri, 4 Nicholas Palmer, 3 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Jason Long. Reserves: 16 Jacob Devery, 17 Timothy Farrell, 18 Jarvy Aoake, 19 Ben Parsons, 20 Hugh Renton, 21 Ellery Wilson, 22 Tiaan Falcon, 23 To'o Vaega