Teams named for Shield challenge


Wednesday, September 21, 2005    Photosport

All Blacks flanker Jerry Collins and hooker Luke Mahoney return for Wellington for the much-anticipated clash.

The pair were the only two changes to the starting XV made by coach John Plumtree from the side who beat Southland 53-12 last Saturday.

Collins makes his first appearance since the Philips Tri Nations competition and forces last week's No 6 Kristian Ormsby out of the squad.

Wellington gets its third shot at the trophy in four years, having lost 31-29 in 2001 and drawing 38-all in 2003.

Canterbury: Ben Blair, Steven Yates, Casey Laulala, Caleb Ralph, Scott Hamilton, Cameron McIntyre, Andrew Ellis, Mose Tuiali'i, Johnny Leo'o, Reuben Thorne (captain), Kevin O'Neill, Craig Clarke, Campbell Johnstone, Corey Flynn/Tone Kopelani, Greg Somerville.
Reserves: Kopelani/Ti'i Paulo, Wyatt Crockett, George Naoupu, Hayden Hopgood, Jamie Nutbrown, Steven Brett, Vilimoni Delasau.

Wellington: Shannon Paku, Lome Fa'atau, Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu (captain), Roy Kinikinilau, Jimmy Gopperth, Piri Weepu, Thomas Waldrom, Ben Herring, Jerry Collins, Luke Andrews, Ross Filipo, Neemia Tialata, Luke Mahoney, John Schwalger.
Reserves: Hosea Gear, Tamati Ellison, Brendan Haami, Serge Lilo, Ross Kennedy, Tim Fairbrother, Mahonri Schwalger.