Mooloos announce team for semi v Auckland

Thursday, October 28, 2010    

"We are taking on a team this weekend who haven't conceded a lot of tries this season so we need to continue building on our attack. Defensively they are a team that can hold onto the ball for long periods of time so we need to ensure we make every tackle and slow down their possession."

“There is a lot of confidence and excitement within the team as this is one of the biggest games you can play so we are preparing well and looking forward to the trip up the road tomorrow.”

The starting forward pack remains the same this week with Kent Fife coming into the squad to cover Matt Vant Leven after receiving a head injury last week against Canterbury.

Tawera Kerr-Barlow comes off the bench and will start in the halfback jersey with Malcolm Barnes on the bench aiming to play his blazer game. All Black Sitiveni Sivivatu comes off the bench and will start on the right wing with Henry Speight moving to the reserves.

“We didn’t feel Brendon was ready to take the field this week as his injury has knocked him around and we need to ensure he is safety can be guaranteed before we will consider him for selection.”

The Waikato team is

1. Toby Smith
2. Aled de Malmanche
3. Nathan White (Captain)
4. Toby Lynn
5. Romana Graham
6. Dominiko Waqaniburotu
7. Jack Lam
8. Alex Bradley
9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow
10. Trent Renata
11. Dwayne Sweeney
12. Jackson Willison
13. Save Tokula
14. Sitiveni Sivivatu / Henry Speight
15. Sosene Anesi

16. Hikairo Forbes
17. Ben May
18. Kent Fife
19. Zak Hohneck
20. Malcolm Barnes
21. Christian Lealiifano
22. Henry Speight/ Tim Mikkelson