Three changes for Otago

Getty Images

Friday, September 17, 2010    NZPA    Getty Images

Lock Josh Townsend is to make his debut for the province ahead of Hoani Matenga, who has been named on the reserves bench for the eighth round fixture.

Also, hooker Wyatt McKay will make his first start for Otago, replacing Liam Coltman, who was injured against Tasman last weekend when Otago secured just their second win of the competition.

The other change comes at halfback where Johnny Legg drops to the bench to make way for Sean Romans.

The match at Carisbrook will mark loose forward Adam Thomson's 50th appearance for Otago.

Otago: Ben Smith, Joe Hill, Josh Tatupu, Andrew Parata, Ryan Shortland, Glenn Dickson, Sean Romans, Adam Thomson, Alando Soakai (captain), Brad Cameron, Hayden Triggs, Josh Townsend, Halani Aulika, Wyatt McKay, Kees Meeuws.

Reserves: Peter Mirrielees, Sam Hibbard, Hoani Matenga, Charlie O'Connell, Johnny Legg, Hayden Parker, Chris Small.